I’m gonna pop some tags, only got $20 in my pocket

Shopping at thrift stores keeps items out of landfills and reduces demand for new items.  I’ve known this and shopped at thrift stores for a while, but recently I had another thought.  As I was purchasing 5 shirts from Goodwill (for $15 total), I wondered how much of my wardrobe is actually 2nd hand.  How much do I practice what I preach?  To answer that question, I took an inventory of of my clothes.  I was pleased to find that my wardrobe is made up of 44% thrift store purchases.  But at the same time, I was horrified to find that I own 137 shirts, sweaters, sweatshirts, and tank tops (not even counting workout shirts).  Before judging me for having such a horrid number of shirts, remember that 44% of them are 2nd hand and also know that I immediately purged a bunch of stuff from my closet.

Thrift Shop Macklemore

Macklemore’s Thrift Shop is a great song and the inspiration of this blog title.

So with those things in mind, this blog post captures two green actions:  1) Shop at thrift stores.  Like I already said, this will reduce demand for newly manufactured items, and it will reduce the surge of items going to landfills.  It is possible to find good things (clothes, furniture, decorations, dishes) at thrift stores, it just takes patience.  2) Take an inventory of your clothes.  It will emphasize the stuff you have that you don’t wear or need.  Then, give those things to someone else and close the loop on 2nd hand items.

 

Leave a Reply

