Save Water from the Shower

Brewers BucketThis summer I read a book that inspired me to make another Green change in my life.  I decided to collect water from the shower as it is warming up.  In order to do this, I went to Goodwill to look for a bucket.  As usual, I found the perfect thing.  It is a plastic Brewer themed bucket that one might use to keep beers chilled.  Now as I’m waiting for the shower to heat up, I save the water.  Then I take the bucket out of the shower so it doesn’t get soapy.  This whole exercise would be pointless, unless I used the water for something.  Therefore, I use the water for my houseplants.  The United States Geological Survey estimates that individuals use 80-100 gallons of water every day at home.  Imagine 100 gallons of milk (except filled with water) lined up every day waiting to be poured literally down the drain.  It is great to know that I will never have to fill my watering can from the sink again, and that I am doing every small bit to reduce my water consumption.

Leave a Reply

