Week 52 – Go vegan

A vegan is a person who refrains from using any animal product whether for food, clothing, or any other purpose.  For the last week of the Green Challenge, I decided to go vegan.  Why is going vegan good for the environment?  Even if we just use the animal’s products (eggs, milk, honey), we still have to invest all the energy, space, food, and water to raise the animals.

I must admit, I was a vegan-lite.  I made sure that I ate vegan meals when I cooked for myself.  The catch is that I didn’t want to hassle anyone else, so during all of the holiday parties, I lifted my vegan restrictions.  Still, even avoiding cheese for a few meals was difficult!  I had pasta with red sauce, pasta with veggie sauce, rice with veggies, veggie soup (twice), a veggie burrito, and cereal with soy milk (as usual) but I didn’t eat the Marshmallow Oaties cereal since it has gelatin in the marshmallows.  Gelatin is made by boiling the leftover body parts from slaughterhouses– bones, skin, and tissue. GROSS!

Here are a few other things that I learned about vegan-eating.  Refined white sugar is processed with animal products (and therefore NOT vegan),  and some wines and beers are made using isinglass from the swim bladders of fish (Miller products are safe).  Greg also learned some things about being vegan, “Want me to make you an egg?” “No thanks, eggs come from an animal”.  In addition to eating vegan, I also used my vegan wax-less floss which I’ve had for a few months.  Overall, this was a VERY difficult week in the challenge because animal products are EVERYWHERE!  But, I’m glad I found out about vegan-eating, and I’m glad I tried it out for a week.

Image

This is the last change for the Green Challenge.  I’ll write a reflection on the year, and I plan to keep this blog, however I won’t be doing another Green Challenge.  Thanks for reading 🙂

6 thoughts on “Week 52 – Go vegan

  1. In a different age, most breweries would have used Isinglass to clarify thier beers (and can still be found in homebrew shops), these days most (if not all) breweries that use clarify agents will generally use silica hydrogels to remove haze proteins.

    • That’s an interestingpart of beer making history. It’s interesting to wonder which would be better for the environment, isinglass/other animal based products or silica hydrogels that are factory produced?

  2. Yay vegan!!!! I love the challenge of going vegan! It’s awesome that you tried it for a week. I think some of the hardest parts are avoiding leather and avoiding things with small ingredients like gelatin and “less than 1% milk”. And, choosing vegan food becomes debatable when there are foods process in factories that use animal products to make the machinery (in the paint for example). Going any bit vegan though has so many great benefits. I hope you felt like a very happy hippie during some of your meals! 🙂

Leave a Reply

