Week 51 – Turn off lights in public places (when appropriate)

ImageTurning off the lights is a simple task that can sometimes get overlooked because people don’t think one little light bulb has a noticeable environmental impact.  According to this calculation, if you have 1 light bulb on for 12 hours a day, that requires 357 pounds of coal per year.  Imagine if we actually had to shovel and handle that coal personally.  That’s a lot of coal for just one light bulb!  Of course some light bulbs are better than others just as some power plants are better than others, however who has just 1 light bulb?  In our society there is light everywhere, and that means there are light bulbs everywhere.  All in all, about 12% of our nation’s electricity bill is spent on lighting according to this source.

Taking that into consideration, this week I started paying more attention to lights that don’t belong to me.  Of course I always turn off the lights in my apartment, and I even brush my teeth/ shower in the dark (it’s very calming).  However, now I started to turn off the lights in my apartment’s laundry room, unused conference rooms at work, and empty public bathrooms.  This is a great way for me to spread my green habits even farther than my own apartment.

2 thoughts on “Week 51 – Turn off lights in public places (when appropriate)

Leave a Reply

