Week 50 – Wrap presents with re-usable/ recycled materials

With the holidays coming up, I have a handful of gifts to give, and this year I’m going to make sure that all my gifts are eco-wrapped.  In order to accomplish this, I’ve employed a few methods:

There's 2 types of fabric wrapping "paper", lots of re-used gift bags, the calendar wrapped gift, the re-usable wrapped box, and cards made from last year's cards.

There’s 2 types of fabric wrapping “paper”, lots of re-used gift bags, the calendar wrapped gift, the re-usable wrapped box, and cards made from last year’s cards.

1)  I expanded my cloth wrapping “paper” selection by buying some red pillow cases at Goodwill.  With a few carefully placed safety pins, the fabric wrapping looks great!
2)   Instead of wrapping things with disposable wrapping paper, I re-used a large variety of gift bags (and re-used tissue paper).  I only had a few Christmas bags, so one of my gifts went into a Packers bag.  Go Pack go!
3)  I re-used the front of last year’s cards.
4)  I wrapped a small gift using an old calendar page.
5)  One of my gifts is in a box that is wrapped with normal wrapping paper, but it’s wrapped such that it can be opened without tearing the paper.   This way, the same wrapped box can be used multiple times.

All of these things help to reduce the carbon footprint of gift giving.  This year I haven’t used any newspaper or brown paper, but of course those are also good options for sustainable wrapping.  For those people who use disposable wrapping paper, it can be recycled in many areas, which is something that often gets forgotten in the turmoil of opening gifts.  At my Christmas gatherings this year (and the birthday party that I went to today), I’ll politely remind the host that wrapping paper is recyclable.  Between the eco-wrapping and the increased recycling, I’ll be sure to have a green Christmas.

Leave a Reply

