Week 48 – Stop using small garbage bin at work

garbage binAt work, I have a small wastebasket at my desk. Recently I noticed that the cleaning lady changes the garbage bag even if there’s only 1 tiny thing in it.  Therefore, my green change for week 48 is to stop using the small wastebasket at my desk.  Instead, I will walk to the kitchenette which has a much larger garbage bin.  This will reduce the number of small garbage bags used.

More than saving the garbage bags, this change demonstrates the mindset that I’ve honed in the past 48 weeks.  With everything I do, everything I see, I think about the environment. It is impossible for 1 person to list all of the ways to go green because it’s different based on each person’s life.  Therefore, what I’ve done so far is to learn about the main issues, gather some ideas, and then apply them to my life however I can.  The small garbage bin represents all of the minute details that I’ve learned to see.  Seeing the problem is the first step to solving it.

4 thoughts on “Week 48 – Stop using small garbage bin at work

  1. Cool idea! Maybe you could casually explain your idea to others at work too. Or… what if we just stopped using garbage bags O.o

    • I’m glad you like the idea! I also think it’s a nice way to make sure I get up and walk a bit when I have to take something to the larger garbage in the cafe area.

Leave a Reply

