Week 45 – Ask for eco-friendly gifts

green giftGiving/ getting eco-friendly gifts is a great way to raise awareness about the need to consume less (or consume smarter).  I asked my family to consider giving me eco-friendly gifts (things to save energy, things made from recycled/ organic materials, or things from thrift stores).  This Christmas when I’m shopping for the people on my list, if it is appropriate I will buy something from a thrift store or something that is eco-friendly in other ways.  However, I know some people don’t appreciate second hand things as much as I do, so I will also be reasonable about it.  After all, the purpose of giving a gift is to make someone else happy and show them that you care.  That purpose does not include promoting your personal agenda.

Leave a Reply

