Week 44 – Fix my leaky faucet…..?

I have a green sink/ toilet similar to this,  AND I have pink walls in my bathroom, but this is not my bathroom.

I have a green sink/ toilet/tub similar to this, AND I have pink walls in my bathroom, but this is not my bathroom.

I have a confession to make.  I have a leaky faucet in my bathroom.  Yes, I know, I’m the worst environmentalist ever.  We live in an apartment, so I don’t have the freedom to go and tear out all the plumbing and put in new pipes/ faucets.  I did try to have the maintenance crew fix it (twice), but they were unable/ unwilling to do so.

This week I measured how badly it leaks, and it was a depressing answer.  At it’s least leakiness, it leaks about 1/2 cup per hour.  But, depending on who turns it off, it can leak MUCH more.  So I thought I would take matters into my own hands.  Maybe it was as simple as putting in a new gasket or screwing something in a little tighter.  So I went to assess the situation.  Uh oh.  I couldn’t turn off the water to the sink.  All the pipes were corroded over with stuff that looked like the Statue of Liberty.  Also, when I took out the one visible screw, nothing moved.  I couldn’t get the faucet handle off (which I determined was the root cause of the leak).  So basically, I’m giving up.  Instead, I will start to collect the leaking water and use it to water my plants.

Leave a Reply

