Week 37 – Use socks instead of paper towels

I know I’m writing this a bit late, but I promise that I actually made the green change on time.  For week 37, my green change is to use old socks instead of paper towels.  So when I’m cleaning in the kitchen or bathroom or wherever, instead of wiping something down with paper towel, I will now use old socks or rags.  Then I can just wash the sock in the laundry,

This is not me.

This is not me.

and I avoid all of the paper towel waste.  Plus, if a sock/ rag gets really nasty I won’t feel bad just throwing it away since it is just an old sock anyways.  I like this change because it is an example of REDUCE and REUSE.  I’m reducing waste by using less paper towel, and I’m reusing socks that I would otherwise have thrown away immediately.

In the US, we use about 70 million tons of paper each year.  If you average that out over the 2013 US population, that’s about 440 pounds of paper per person per year.  WOW.  I guess I never really thought about the actual weight of paper that we go through, but it all adds up.  I weighed by parent’s Sunday newspaper and it was about 2 pounds.  Therefore, anything I can do to help reduce my paper use is definitely a good thing.

2 thoughts on “Week 37 – Use socks instead of paper towels

  1. This is great; I have been using socks for years. I also cut up some shorts or t-shirts that have holes in them. Eventually, I toss them. Recently, I took some old cotton rags that were used for the dog and laid them under some garden clippings. I have heard that they will keep the weeds down and eventually decompose. We’ll see next spring.

Leave a Reply

