Week 29 – Start a worm bin

All year I’ve known that eventually I will start a worm bin as part of the Green Challenge.  Now the time has come, and I am very excited to have about 300 little red wigglers in my care.

Last year I tried a version of apartment composting called bokashi.  That anaerobic method of composting didn’t go so well for me, and I quit it without much effort to improve my techniques.  Ever since, I’ve been considering a worm bin.  Vermicomposting (using worms to compost) is a good way to compost in an apartment because it doesn’t take much space, it’s not supposed to smell, and you don’t need a yard to store a compost pile.  Of course the benefits of composting are huge.  According to the EPA, over half of the 250 million tons of waste that Americans landfill annually is compostable.  On a more relate-able scale, the average American throws away 20 pounds of food each month.  With that in mind, composting is one of the best ways to reduce the amount of waste you send to the landfill.  Most people throw things away and don’t think of them again.  But, those things are actually being dumped into our environment somewhere.  Just piling up.  Day after day.  Year after year.  Landfills getting bigger and bigger.  That’s why I’m so excited to start my worm bin.

Here’s how I did it:
1) Bought a small plastic container (with a lid) from Goodwill.
2) Bought 300 red worms from a local bait shop.
3) Drilled 1/2″ holes around the sides of the container.
4) Cut newspaper into strips and filled the container about 2/3 of the way.Image5) Misted the newspaper with water so that the worms will be able to breath.
6) Added the worms and the soil that they came in.
7) Gave the cute little worms their first meal!  Scraps from cutting up peppers and some coffee grounds.  YUM.Image

The instructions that I followed are from this website.  Now I just have to keep those little guys alive and figure out how much they can eat.  I plan to feed them kitchen scraps like vegetable peelings and stuff.  It will be a bit of an experiment, but it’s one that I’m looking forward to.  Hopefully after I get some practice I can make a much larger worm bin and compost even more food.

5 thoughts on “Week 29 – Start a worm bin

  1. Not with the vermicompost, but I have had success with oyster mushrooms on straight up coffee grounds (and also with spent grain from brewing)

Leave a Reply

