Week 25 – Always carpool to the lake cottage

My family has a lake cottage that is less than an hour from my apartment, and I go there frequently in the summer.  Being at the lake with my family is one of my favorite parts of summer.  Since it’s less than an hour away,my family (and extended family) has a habit of driving at least 4 cars out there per day.  We all want to come and go on different schedules, and it’s so close that this is easy for us to do.  In fact, we joke that someday we are going to anti-carpool and actually make extra trips so that we have more cars at the lake than people.

Unlike most of my other pictures which are courtesy of Goodsearch Images, this is an actual picture courtesy of my sister.

Unlike most of my other pictures which are courtesy of Goodsearch Images, this is an actual picture courtesy of my sister.

Starting this week, I will always make sure to carpool to the lake.  Reducing miles driven is one of the best ways for me to reduce my environmental impact.  Did you know that burning 1 gallon of gas produces 19 pounds of carbon dioxide?!  If you’re analytical like my Dad, you might ask, “How can this be? A gallon of gas doesn’t weigh 19 pounds.”  The answer is that the carbon in the gas combines with oxygen in the air.  That’s where the extra weight comes from.  With this in mind, I’m glad to  sacrifice the convenience of having my own car for the sake of the planet.

2 thoughts on “Week 25 – Always carpool to the lake cottage

    • Thanks for reminding me about this. I know the Transitions team was working on this event during the last meeting. I may be participating in some things, but I’ve been out of the loop for a while because of a vacation, so I’m just getting back into normal life.

Leave a Reply

