Week 21 – Check my tire pressure regularly

Filling Tire with Air

This is not me or my car.

Due to the number of miles that I drive, my biggest environmental impact is probably my car’s emissions.  I know the green thing to do would be to live closer to work or take public transportation.  But, knowing that I am not going to change my driving habits, I bought a hybrid car last year.  I am very happy with the 41 mpg that I get on average.  But, there’s always more that can be done.  Starting this week, I will check my tire pressure every 3 weeks.  By keeping my tires properly inflated, I could improve my car’s fuel economy by up to 3% according to some sites plus properly inflated tires last longer.  If every vehicle in the US maintained proper tire pressure, up to 600 million gallons of gas could be saved per year.

In addition to keeping my tires inflated, I will continue to get the prescribed oil changes to make sure that my car is running as smoothly as possible.  Even though I have not changed the number of miles that I drive, at least I can make some other improvements to shrink my carbon footprint.

2 thoughts on “Week 21 – Check my tire pressure regularly

Leave a Reply

