Happy Earth Day!

In honor of Earth Day, I signed up to be an Earth Day Network Activist and took a quiz on this website to calculate my ecological footprint.  My sister suggested the website to me.  By answering questions about my eating habits, home energy usage, driving habits, and other things, I found out that if everyone lived like me we would need 4.1 Planet Earths to provide enough resources.  I’m surprised that my estimate is so high, but I guess I do (for the most part) live a typical American lifestyle.  Greg and my Mom did the estimate too.  What’s your estimate?

Here's my ecological footprint scorecard.

Here’s my ecological footprint scorecard.

To further celebrate the holiday, Greg and I visited the Earth Day Festival at the Riverside Urban Ecology Center.  It was a cool building, but pretty small.  While we were there I learned about an environmental group in Milwaukee that has speakers twice a month.  I think I’ll check out their meetings as one of my future Green changes.  Remember, every day is Earth Day.

10 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day!

  1. What up tree huggers?! 🙂 Well, I took this delightful quiz and was pretty impressed. My avatar (little character person) looked ridiculous because she had the same color hair and skin and the same color shirt and pants. Anyways, results showed that I need 4-5 earths to survive and I’m surprised. I thought dorm life would be efficient for these reasons. 1) I use a household appliance maybe once a month. 2) The size of my apartment is the size of your bathroom. 3) I don’t buy things 4) I don’t drive 5) I don’t eat a lot of meat. But I suppose dorm life does use up a TON of electricity…hence we have four power-strips all plugged up within a five foot radius… and it seems like people purchase new technology about once a week. I also pick up not one but two daily newspapers. My bad. I still don’t think I need 5 planets though. I’m pretty sure I’m living just fine with one. Happy Earth Day!

    • I’m glad you took the quiz and I’m also surprised by your score. There must be some assumptions based on the fact that we live in the US (and those assumptions are probably pretty good assumptions). For example, we have our clothes made for us and we have running water and electricity. Happy Earth Day!

  2. Okay, I took the test… I scored 3.8 Planet Earths to survive. I think it helps that I only drive 1 mile to work, but I’m surprised that I scored more “green” than Michelle. Not sure how accurate it really its, but it does make you aware of our mass consumption. Every little bit helps.

  3. I got 4.1 Earths but it’s probably more than that because I didn’t know how much I spend on electricity or gas as we have our utilities included.

Leave a Reply

