Week 15 – Cut off the bottom of toothpaste tubes

Image

Before I cut it open

In order to use every last smidgen of toothpaste, I will start cutting the bottom off the toothpaste tube.  I already squeezed the tube until it’s all crinkled up, but now I will get even more toothpaste.  This was one of the green changes that my Mom already started.  She got 6 extra uses by cutting her toothpaste tube.  So far I have gotten 4 extra uses.  The next time I do this, I’ll just cut off 1 corner instead of the entire bottom.  I think this will make it easier to control where the toothpaste comes out from.

It’s not like toothpaste production is especially bad for the environment, but this change is an example of reducing (reduce is the first of the 3 Rs after all).  I will be reducing the amount of new toothpaste that I buy as well as reducing wastes.

2 thoughts on “Week 15 – Cut off the bottom of toothpaste tubes

  1. Good blog. I’ve had 2 long discussions with people about the above just today. Interesting to hear their various opinions!

    • What were some of the opinions? I’m just a few squeezes away from cutting the end off my second toothpaste tube, and I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

