Week 13 – Use Goodsearch instead of Google

Goodsearch is a Yahoo-powered search engine that contributes 50% of its revenue (1 penny per search) to an organization designated by the user.  A similar donation can be made through Google-powered “Search Kindly”, but that does not let the user choose the organization.  Although I much prefer Google over Yahoo, I decided to switch to Goodsearch since I could choose where my donation goes.

Image

Conservation Education at the MacKenzie Environmental Education Center

Goodsearch can be used to donate to many organizations (not just those that are environmentally focused).  I decided to support the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation – MacKenzie Environmental Education Center which is in Poynette, WI.  They offer nature trails and museums free of charge, plus they do field trips and educational programs to promote conservation.  I had fun looking through the organizations and selecting one that matched my values.  Goodsearch will be my first search engine.  Of course, if I can’t find what I’m looking for I’ll use Google.  Who can avoid Google?

6 thoughts on “Week 13 – Use Goodsearch instead of Google

  1. I love Google! I don’t think I could ever switch. Maybe I’ll use blackle instead. (“Blackle was created by Heap Media to remind us all of the need to take small steps in our everyday lives to save energy. Blackle searches are powered by Google Custom Search.”) For those of you that haven’t, check it out! http://www.blackle.com/

    • Thanks for letting me know about that Google version. I added Blackle to my favorites right next to Goodsearch, so if I can’t find what I’m looking for on Goodsearch, I’ll try Blackle.

    • Glad that you’re going to try Goodsearch. The shift away from Google has been hard! I try to use Goodsearch first, and for most things it is fine. But, I still use Google sometimes. I do so many internet searches that I’ve still managed to get a nice little donation going towards my Goodsearch cause.

Leave a Reply

