Week 11 – Take Navy Showers

Thanks to the book “Sleeping Naked is Green”, I was exposed to the idea of navy showers.  When taking a navy shower, you turn the water off while soaping up.

If they can do it, so can I.

If they can do it, so can I.

I tried this a few times and realized it wasn’t bad; so now I will do it for every shower.  This means that I have the water on for a few seconds to get wet, turn the water off while I wash and shampoo, then turn the water back on to rinse off.  I timed a traditional shower vs a navy shower which showed a savings of 3.5 gallons of water with each navy shower.

Did you know that the average American uses 176 gallons of water per day?  You might not think that’s a lot of water, but imagine buying 176 gallons of water from the store.  That wouldn’t even fit in your car.  That’s a lot of water.    Studies in California found that each gallon of water takes 2 Watts of energy for treatment.  It all adds up!  With that in mind, I’m happy to know that I’m taking steps to reduce my water consumption.

7 thoughts on “Week 11 – Take Navy Showers

  1. I am doing it too and it is not that bad. I thought I would get cold, but that is not the case. It does seem senseless for the water to run while you shampoo. Thanks, Michelle for all the great ideas XOXO Mom.

Leave a Reply

