Week 10 – Use My Own Containers

In order to avoid packaging (and the extra resources needed to make/ dispose of it) I will start to buy as many things as possible in my own containers.  For a few years, I have purchased rice, flour, and sugar in my own containers.  This means that I go to a store (Outpost, Willy Street Co-Op, Riverwest Co-op) and bring my own container.  At the store I weigh the empty container and then fill it with whatever food I need.  I have been on a mission to find stores in the Milwaukee area where I can buy soaps and lotions in my own container.

Those containers on the bottom shelf are the bulk soap dispensers.

Those containers on the bottom shelf are the bulk soap dispensers.

Finally, this week I went to the Riverwest Co-op and had some success.  They sell soaps in bulk so I was able to buy shampoo by pumping it into a container that I brought from home.  I am still searching for bulk lotion in Milwaukee.

Although I already purchase some foods in my own containers, starting this week, I will expand as much as possible to include soap, granola, popcorn kernels, spices, yeast, cheese, and meats.

On a similar note, I finally re-filled my hand soap with the soap I bought in week 2.  The soap works just like regular soap so I am very satisfied with the purchase.

Leave a Reply

