Week 8 – Reduce Speeding

Even though I have a hybrid car, driving is one of my biggest carbon impacts due to my amount of driving.  Aggressive driving like speeding and rapid acceleration/ braking wastes gas. Whether or not I am an aggressive driver, I don’t know.  But, I do have a tendency to go 10 mph over the speed limit.  At highway speeds an additional 5 mph can decrease fuel economy by 10-30% because air resistance increases exponentially as a vehicle goes faster.  According to a DOE 2008 estimate, a national speed limit of 55 mph could save 175,000 barrels of oil per day!  In fact, in 1974 Congress used a national speed limit to reduce gasoline consumption in response to the 1973 Arab oil embargo.  Image

With that info in mind, this week I will reduce speeding to no more than 5 mph over the limit.  I should see an increase in fuel economy, plus driving slower is safer.

Leave a Reply

