Week 6 – Sign up with my Local Freecycle Network

Freecycle is sort of like Craigslist except it is all FREE.  Giving unused items away or using things from other people reduces the amount of stuff thrown into landfills.  Plus, if you’re getting something used, that is one less item that you have to buy new.  Landfills are bad for the environment because they take up space and create risk for leaks into the environment.  As I was  writing this post, I learned that there are only 2 man-made structures that can be seen from outer space- the Great Wall of China and a landfill in New York City.  Gross!  What does this say about our society?  We have so much trash that it can be seen from outer space!

Freecycling is better than landfilling

Freecycling is better than landfilling

For this week’s green change, I made a Freecycle account and saved the website to my favorites so that I can frequently browse available items.  For good measure, I also added Craigslist to my favorites.  I will let you know when I get/ give my first thing with Freecycle.

2 thoughts on “Week 6 – Sign up with my Local Freecycle Network

Leave a Reply

