Cheetos = Locally & Sustainably Produced Food

I have great news for all of those Cheeto loving, environmentally friendly, southern Wisconsinites like me!  Frito-Lay has a production facility in Beloit, Wisconsin which has implemented many practices to reduce their carbon footprint.  As I was perusing my latest edition of “Green Manufacturer” magazine, I read this article and learned about the Beloit facility that produces Lays, Ruffles, Fritos, Doritos, Tostitos, and Cheetos.  Not only is this plant nearby, they also do lots of green things like heat recovery Frito-Lay = Green Manufacturerand reclaiming starch from water to sell to other industries.

I thought this must be too good to be true, so I e-mailed their Manufacturing Director to get more details.  Maybe they do all these green things but then ship their snacks cross country to a distribution center before coming back to Wisconsin for consumers.  Turns out that they do have distribution centers, but the one that supplies Milwaukee is located in Menominee Falls.  Nice!  Next time I snack on some Frito-Lay products, I’ll rest-assured knowing that they are locally and sustainably produced.

2 thoughts on “Cheetos = Locally & Sustainably Produced Food

Leave a Reply

